Faculty and Staff

Faculty

William Aylward

Position title: Professor of Classics

Email: aylward@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-7498

Address:
968 Van Hise Hall

Jeffrey Beneker

Position title: Professor of Classics and Faculty Director of the Chadbourne Residential College

Email: jbeneker@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-3320

Address:
904 Van Hise Hall

Jeffrey Blakely

Position title: Adjunct Professor of Biblical Archaeology

Email: jblakely@wisc.edu

William Brockliss

Position title: Associate Professor of Classics

Email: brockliss@wisc.edu

Address:
964 Van Hise Hall

Alex Dressler

Position title: Associate Professor of Classics

Email: adressler@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-1184

Address:
906 Van Hise Hall

Hanna Golab

Position title: Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: golab@wisc.edu

Address:
910 Van Hise Hall

Jeremy M. Hutton

Position title: Department Chair, Professor of Classical Hebrew Language & Biblical Literature

Email: jmhutton@wisc.edu

Address:
960 Van Hise Hall

Laura McClure

Position title: Professor of Classics, Mellon Morgridge Professor in the Humanities

Email: lmcclure@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-8269

Address:
916 Van Hise Hall

J.C. McKeown

Position title: Professor of Classics

Email: mckeown@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-9755

Address:
914 Van Hise Hall

Grant Nelsestuen

Position title: Department Chair, Integrated Liberal Studies; Associate Professor of Classics

Email: nelsestuen@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-5910

Address:
908 Van Hise Hall

Nandini Pandey

Position title: Associate Professor of Classics

Email: nandini.pandey@wisc.edu

Address:
966 Van Hise Hall

Vanessa Schmitz-Siebertz

Position title: Associate Lecturer

Email: schmitzsiebe@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-1972

Address:
958 Van Hise Hall

Chontel Syfox

Position title: Assistant Professor of Classical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies

Email: csyfox@wisc.edu

Address:
912 Van Hise Hall

Mike Vanden Heuvel

Position title: Professor of Interdisciplinary Theatre Studies

Email: mvandenh@wisc.edu

Address:
952 Van Hise Hall

Affiliate Faculty

Nicholas D. Cahill

Credentials: Berkeley, PhD'91

Position title: Professor of Art History

Email: ndcahill@wisc.edu

Emily Fletcher

Credentials: University of Toronto, PhD'12

Position title: Associate Professor of Philosophy

Email: erfletcher@wisc.edu

Paula Gottlieb

Credentials: Cornell, PhD'88

Position title: Professor of Philosophy

Email: plgottli@wisc.edu

Daniel Kapust

Credentials: University of Wisconsin-Madison, PhD'05

Position title: Professor of Political Science

Email: djkapust@wisc.edu

Marc Kleijwegt

Credentials: Leiden, PhD'91

Position title: Professor of History

Email: mkleijwegt@wisc.edu

Leonora Neville

Credentials: Princeton, PhD'98

Position title: John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe Professor of Byzantine History

Email: lneville@wisc.edu

Jordan Rosenblum

Credentials: Brown University, PhD'08

Position title: Belzer Professor of Classical Judaism

Email: jrosenblum@wisc.edu

Claire Taylor

Credentials: Cambridge, PhD

Position title: John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe Associate Professor of Ancient Greek History

Email: cetaylor3@wisc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Barry Powell

Position title: Professor Emeritus of Classics

Patricia Rosenmeyer

Position title: Professor Emerita of Classics

Ronald L. Troxel

Position title: Professor Emeritus of Hebrew Bible

Academic Staff

William Bach

Position title: Department Administrator

Email: wbach@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-2041

Address:
902 Van Hise

Toni Landis

Position title: Academic Advisor/Graduate Coordinator

Email: tllandis@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-2487

Address:
1410 Van Hise