Faculty and Staff

Faculty

William Aylward

Department Chair, Professor of Classics

aylward@wisc.edu

608-263-7498

968 Van Hise Hall

Jeffrey Beneker

Professor of Classics

jbeneker@wisc.edu

608-262-3320

904 Van Hise Hall

Jeffrey Blakely

Adjunct Professor of Biblical Archaeology

jblakely@wisc.edu

William Brockliss

Associate Professor of Classics

brockliss@wisc.edu

964 Van Hise Hall

Alex Dressler

Associate Professor of Classics

adressler@wisc.edu

608-263-1184

906 Van Hise Hall

Mike Vanden Heuvel

Professor of Interdisciplinary Theatre Studies

mvandenh@wisc.edu

952 Van Hise Hall

Jeremy M. Hutton

Professor of Classical Hebrew Language and Biblical Literature

jmhutton@wisc.edu

960 Van Hise Hall

Laura McClure

Professor of Classics, Mellon Morgridge Professor in the Humanities

lmcclure@wisc.edu

608-263-8269

916 Van Hise Hall

J.C. McKeown

Professor of Classics

mckeown@wisc.edu

608-262-9755

914 Van Hise Hall

Grant Nelsestuen

Associate Professor of Classics

nelsestuen@wisc.edu

608-265-5910

908 Van Hise Hall

Nandini Pandey

Associate Professor of Classics

nandini.pandey@wisc.edu

966 Van Hise Hall

Vanessa Schmitz-Siebertz

Associate Lecturer

schmitzsiebe@wisc.edu

608-263-1972

958 Van Hise Hall

Affiliate Faculty

Nicholas D. Cahill

Berkeley, Ph.D. 1991

Professor of Art History

ndcahill@wisc.edu

Emily Fletcher

University of Toronto, Ph.D. 2012

Associate Professor of Philosophy

erfletcher@wisc.edu

Paula Gottlieb

Cornell, Ph.D. 1988

Professor of Philosophy

plgottli@wisc.edu

Daniel Kapust

University of Wisconsin-Madison, Ph.D. 2005

Professor of Political Science

djkapust@wisc.edu

Marc Kleijwegt

Leiden, Ph.D. 1991

Professor of History

mkleijwegt@wisc.edu

Leonora Neville

Princeton, Ph.D. 1998

John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe Professor of Byzantine History

lneville@wisc.edu

Jordan Rosenblum

Brown University, Ph.D. 2008

Belzer Professor of Classical Judaism

jrosenblum@wisc.edu

Claire Taylor

University of Cambridge, Ph.D

John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe Associate Professor of Ancient Greek History

cetaylor3@wisc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Barry Powell

Professor Emeritus of Classics

Patricia Rosenmeyer

Professor Emerita of Classics

Ronald L. Troxel

Professor Emeritus of Hebrew Bible

Academic Staff

William Bach

Department Administrator

wbach@wisc.edu

608-262-2041

902 Van Hise

Toni Landis

Academic Advisor/Graduate Coordinator

tlandis@wisc.edu

608-262-2487

1410 Van Hise